Glowpedia
Glowpedia/Skincare/Jack Black
Skincare

Jack Black

Jack Black is an American men's grooming brand founded in 2000 in Dallas, Texas, by Curran Dandurand, Jeff Dandurand, and Emily Dalton.

Secondary sources5 sources
Glowpedia Editorial· Published 26 Aug 2026· primary sources: 0
Editorially selected sources, summarised with the help of AI.

⚑ No primary source. The article cites no primary source (T1) — it rests on independent and trade sources (T2–T3).

Jack Black
01 /
Summary

Overview

Jack Black is an American men's grooming brand founded in 2000 in Dallas, Texas, by Curran Dandurand, Jeff Dandurand, and Emily Dalton [5][7]. It makes skincare, shaving, body, and hair products aimed specifically at men, built around a plain-spoken idea the company sums up as "Nothing complicated. Nothing cosmetic. Just superior skincare." Since 2018 it has been owned by Edgewell Personal Care [5].

The brand grew up alongside the modern men's-grooming market and was, by the time of its acquisition, described by industry press as the number-one brand in the US men's prestige segment [5].

02 /

Origin & founders

The company started with a gap its founders felt was going unaddressed. As Jack Black frames its own beginnings, there were plenty of skincare companies making effective, higher-end products for women, "but no one was addressing the needs of the modern man." It launched in Dallas in 2000 with a starting range of ten products [7].

03 /

History & milestones

From that small start, the line expanded steadily. By its fifteenth anniversary in 2015 the brand offered more than 70 products, had grown from three founders working out of their homes to a staff of 45 or more, and reported distribution across all 50 US states and over 20 international markets [7]. That year it also introduced a seven-piece hair-care line, extending beyond its skincare and shaving roots.

In January 2018 Jack Black was acquired by Edgewell Personal Care; the terms of the transaction were not disclosed [5].

04 /

Ownership

Jack Black is owned by Edgewell Personal Care, which acquired it in 2018 [4][5]. Within Edgewell's portfolio it sits alongside brands including Wilkinson Sword, Personna, Hawaiian Tropic, Banana Boat, Cremo, and Bulldog. The company continues to operate as a distinct brand under that ownership, with its own direct-to-consumer site and product launches.

05 /

Philosophy & positioning

The brand's positioning is deliberately unfussy. Its stated mission holds that "men deserve high-quality skin care, but do not want the fuss of excessive products and time in front of the mirror" [7]. That thinking runs through its self-description as "Simple. Masculine. Effective." and its tagline, "Superior Skin Care and Shaving Products For Men."

Commercially it aims at the prestige tier without the highest luxury pricing. A 2025 HuffPost review characterized its appeal as "premium, luxury-level formulas without the luxury-level sticker shock" [6], and sold the range through department-store and beauty retailers such as Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, Sephora, and Ulta Beauty [5].

06 /

Products & innovation

Jack Black's catalogue spans facial cleansers, moisturizers, age-defying and sun-care products, shave and beard care, body products, and hair care. Among its best-known items are the Pure Clean Daily Facial Cleanser, the Double-Duty Face Moisturizer SPF 20, the Turbo Wash Energizing Cleanser, and the Face Buff Energizing Scrub. Formulas draw on ingredients such as blue algae extract, sea parsley, aloe, and vitamin C.

On ethics, the company states a strict cruelty-free policy, saying no animals are harmed in the development, testing, or manufacturing of its products, and that "virtually all" of its products are vegan, with a few exceptions such as beeswax, silk amino acids, and lanolin [3]. No named third-party certifications are documented.

07 /

Recognition

Beyond its stated market ranking, Jack Black has drawn editorial attention as a long-running men's brand. The 2025 HuffPost review described it as one that "quietly built a cult following" over the years [6].

08 /

Current status

Jack Black remains active. It operates a direct-to-consumer e-commerce site with continuing new and limited-edition launches, and was the subject of an editorial review published in late 2025. Though owned by Edgewell since 2018, it functions as a full, ongoing brand rather than a dormant name.

09 /
From the fact base

Facts & evidence

Documented facts from Glowpedia's fact base — every row carries a source.

Timeline#

2000

Founded and launched in Dallas, Texas, initially with 10 products↗ prnewswire.com

2015

Celebrated 15 years; range expanded to over 70 products; launched a seven-piece hair care line↗ prnewswire.com

2018

Acquired by Edgewell Personal Care↗ beautymatter.com

2018

Acquired by Edgewell Personal Care (announced January 21, 2018; terms not disclosed)↗ beautymatter.com

Signature products#

Pure Clean Daily Facial Cleanser

Pure Clean Daily Facial Cleanser - "Aloe & Sage Leaf" - $13↗ getjackblack.com

Double-Duty Face Moisturizer SPF 20

Double-Duty Face Moisturizer SPF 20 - "Blue Algae Extract & Sea Parsley" - $18↗ getjackblack.com

Turbo Wash Energizing Cleanser

Turbo Wash® Energizing Cleanser - "Rosemary, Eucalyptus & Juniper Berry" - $12↗ getjackblack.com

Face Buff Energizing Scrub

Face Buff Energizing Scrub - "Vitamin C and Mint" - $20↗ getjackblack.com

Key ingredients#

Blue Algae ExtractSea ParsleyAloeSage LeafRosemaryEucalyptusJuniper BerryVitamin C↗ getjackblack.com

Mentioned in#

2025

HuffPost — Review describing Jack Black as a men's grooming brand with a cult following↗ huffpost.com

2018

BeautyMatter — Coverage of Edgewell's acquisition; called the number-one brand in the US men's prestige market↗ beautymatter.com

10 /
Sourced

Certification pass

What each certification and self-stated claim rests on: the source, whose website it's on, and what needs review.

Self-stated claims
cruelty_freeSource on the brand's own site

“Jack Black has a strict cruelty-free philosophy, no animals are harmed in the development, testing or manufacturing of Jack Black products.”↗ getjackblack.com

veganSource on the brand's own site

“Virtually all of our products are vegan and do not contain animal derived ingredients or animal by-products.”↗ getjackblack.com

None of these statements has been checked against the certifying bodies' registers. The statements were observed on 25 Aug 2026.

11 /
Market data

Where to buy

Availability in the Nordics

Where the brand is sold according to Glowjakt's price data, per market.

Marketproductsin stockstoresPrice range
Denmark150169 DKK – 340 DKK

Prices come from Glowjakt and are updated daily. Glowpedia receives no payment for clicks.

12 /
Ingredient data

Ingredients across the range

Key ingredients across Jack Black's range, from the ingredient lists of 14 of 15 products in Denmark.

Most common key ingredientsGlycerin12 prod.Vitamin E11 prod.Aloe vera6 prod.Rosemary oil6 prod.Calendula5 prod.Hyaluronic acid5 prod.Jojoba oil4 prod.Vitamin C4 prod.
May affect sensitive skinPhenoxyethanol10 prod.Silicones8 prod.Fragrance3 prod.Alcohol denat1 prod.Mineral oil1 prod.
Shares
79%
fragrance-free
93%
with no animal-derived ingredient identified
0%
with no hit in the “may affect sensitive skin” group

Share of products with a known ingredient list. “None identified” means nothing matched our ingredient groups, not that the product is free of them.

13 /
See also

Related brands

14 /
References

Sources

T1 primary · T2 secondary · T3 note
  1. [3]T2getjackblack.com/pages/faqgetjackblack.com (brand site)
  2. [4]T3en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Black_(disambiguation)Wikipedia
  3. [5]T3beautymatter.com/articles/edgewell-personal-care-acquires-jack-blackbeautymatter.com
  4. [6]T3huffpost.com/entry/jack-black-skin-care-review_l_69509d6fe4b04fa744dbede1huffpost.com
  5. [7]T4prnewswire.com/news-releases/jack-black-celebrates-15-years-continues-to-lead-the-mens-grooming-category-300027596.htmlprnewswire.com