The 2020s.
Acquisitions & ownership457 acquisitions and ownership changes during The 2020s in the encyclopedia's fact base, year by year.
Acquired by Karo Healthcare (KKR-backed, Stockholm-headquartered) from Perrigo for approx. €330 million (closed April 30, 2026). Required Norwegian regulatory divestiture of Locobase brand.↗ marketscreener.com
Parent company Quest Personal Care Global acquired by Brand Masters (Netherlands, backed by Avedon Capital Partners); Quest continues to operate independently↗ thebusinessdesk.com
STADA Arzneimittel AG acquires Nordic commercial rights to Locobase (DK/FI/IS/NO/SE) from Karo Healthcare as required divestiture for Karo's Aco Hud Nordic acquisition (announced May 4, 2026)↗ bakermckenzie.com
Acquired by Kofola ČeskoSlovensko (100% stake), integrated into LEROS herbal subsidiary. Martin Růžička continues as general director; founders remain as advisors.↗ kofola.cz
Jesper Buch (Danish investor, judge on Løvens Hule / Danish Shark Tank) acquired a 10% stake during a Løvens Hule TV appearance. Brand remains family-owned.↗ fyens.dk
Somatoline brand sold by Manetti & Roberts (Bolton Group) to Olyos Group, controlled by Motion Equity Partners (France)↗ en.ilsole24ore.com
- SALT & STONEowner · Advent International
Advent International to acquire majority stake (announced 24 March 2026, expected close April 2026); Humble Growth exits, founder Nima Jalali remains equity holder↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Acquired Guess for approximately US$1.4 billion↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Niche Beauty Labowner · Cosnova Beauty
Acquired by Cosnova Beauty (owner of essence and Catrice), Germany↗ cosmetic-business.com
Kimberly-Clark and Kenvue shareholders approved the acquisition (Jan 29, 2026); transaction not yet closed, expected to close in H2 2026 subject to regulatory approval.↗ prnewswire.com
L'Oreal completed its acquisition of Kering Beaute, including the House of Creed, on 31 March 2026.↗ loreal.com
Transitioned to a holding-company structure, officially changing its name to Kosé Holdings Corporation.↗ koseholdings.co.jp
Completed the acquisition of Kering Beauté on 31 March 2026, including the House of Creed and fifty-year exclusive licences for fragrances and beauty products under the Bottega Veneta and Balenciaga brands (announced October 2025).↗ loreal.com
- Acnemyowner · Niche Beauty Lab
Niche Beauty Lab (incl. Acnemy) acquired by cosnova, effective January 14 2026↗ cosnova.com
- Theramidowner · Niche Beauty Lab
Niche Beauty Lab (Theramid's parent) acquired by Cosnova Group↗ beautymatter.com
- Transparent Labowner · Niche Beauty Lab
Parent company Niche Beauty Lab acquired by Cosnova Beauty (Essence, Catrice); brand continues under founder/CEO Sergio Chorrero.↗ beautymatter.com
CapVest Partners completed its acquisition of the majority stake in STADA Arzneimittel AG on 31 March 2026.↗ stada.com
- label.mowner · TONI&GUY
Sacha Mascolo-Tarbuck acquired complete ownership and control of Label.M and majority ownership/voting control of Toni & Guy↗ beautymatter.com
Arkéa Capital (Crédit Mutuel Arkéa) entered the capital alongside historical shareholders to accelerate internationally↗ marques-de-france.fr
Ownership change announced at Esxence 2025; new owners not publicly named in coverage↗ fragrantica.com
Fragrance licensee AB Parfums SpA (formerly Angelini Beauty SpA) acquired by Give Back Beauty; Angel Schlesser fragrance license transfers to GBB Group↗ wwd.com
Acquired Aromatica, a Czech cosmetics manufacturer in Šlapanice, to manufacture up to ~one-fifth of its cosmetic masses in-house↗ cs.wikipedia.org
Returned to founding-family ownership under Andrew and Duncan Russell↗ en.wikipedia.org
Kimberly-Clark announced (Nov 3, 2025) a $48.7B agreement to acquire Kenvue (and thus Aveeno); shareholders approved Jan 2026, closing targeted H2 2026, pending regulatory approval (not yet closed as of June 2026).↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Elin Ahlberg acquired/took over BLAX (BaBa Blax Sheep) from founder Barbara Enander; the entity was renamed Blax Sheep ApS with HQ at Jyllandsvej 29, Frederiksberg, Denmark (CVR DK44622866).↗ blaxsheep.com
Britney Spears fragrance license transferred from Revlon/Elizabeth Arden to Give Back Beauty↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Divested by Kneipp; sold to an unnamed France-based investment firm↗ gamaconsumer.com
Dashl acquired by an undisclosed buyer (per third-party reporting; brand continues to operate)↗ pitchbook.com
Parent Brand Architekts acquired by Warpaint London plc↗ brandarchitekts.com
Founding family sold its minority stake (Dec 19, 2025), completely exiting the company; L Catterton retained control (~51%).↗ en.wikipedia.org
Authentic Brands Group acquired a 51% stake in Guess Inc. in a ~$1.4 billion deal; Guess went private (finalized January 2026).↗ en.wikipedia.org
Cha Bio Group / Cha Care Services acquired largest shareholder position in Jayjun Cosmetic Co., Ltd.; corporate entity renamed to Cha AI Healthcare Co., Ltd.↗ stockanalysis.com
Acquired by Windsong Global from Kendo; placed under its Belle Brands multi-brand platform.↗ beautyindependent.com
Kallós family sold the company to investors (specific buyer not disclosed in available sources)↗ crunchbase.com
Acquired by Rare Beauty Brands from Unilever↗ beautyindependent.com
Huda Beauty sold its KAYALI stake to Mona Kattan and General Atlantic, who jointly own the brand post-sale; announced 17 February 2025 (subject to regulatory approval). Huda Beauty simultaneously redeemed TSG Consumer's interest (held since 2017).↗ generalatlantic.com
Peter Kern (former Expedia CEO) acquires brand assets and the Bologna plant (~€25m, deal June 10, 2025; completed October 2025) with €30m reinvestment planned through 2027↗ fashionunited.uk
Give Back Beauty signed agreement (31 Jan 2025) to acquire AB Parfums (formerly Angelini Beauty), holder of the Laura Biagiotti fragrance license↗ givebackbeauty.com
Merger of Skala and Lola From Rio into a combined group; Advent International holds controlling interest (acquired 50% of Skala in 2024)↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Creades acquired a 20% minority stake from Verdane↗ en.wikipedia.org
Give Back Beauty signed agreement to acquire AB Parfums (formerly Angelini Beauty), which holds the Mandarina Duck fragrance license↗ basenotes.com
L'Oréal Groupe agreed to acquire a majority stake (Luxe Division); Inflexion retains minority shareholding.↗ loreal-finance.com
Acquired by an undisclosed international investor as part of vertical integration; Italian governance and creative autonomy preserved↗ allure.it
Nudestix acquired by an unnamed US-based private group (announced Sep 2025).↗ beautymatter.com
Waldencast acquires Novaestiq Corp. and U.S. rights to injectable hyaluronic acid line Saypha under the Obagi Medical brand↗ globenewswire.com
SKIMS acquired SKKN by Kim from Kim Kardashian and Coty (Coty divested its stake; Kardashian's 80% transferred to SKIMS).↗ prnewswire.com
Israeli Golf & Co Group acquired exclusive franchise rights to Sabon's Israel stores; Israel HQ/factory/distribution set to close in 2026.↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired by Brygge Partners (Danish family office), together with sister company Pharma-Skan; seller co-owner Susanne Rasmussen↗ oaklins.com
Stella McCartney repurchases LVMH's 49% stake, returning to full independence (January 27)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Parent Brand Architekts plc acquired by Warpaint London plc, transferring indirect ownership of the brand↗ brandarchitekts.com
Mäurer & Wirtz acquired the Tom Tailor Fragrances license from Luxess GmbH, effective 1 January 2025↗ m-w.de
Give Back Beauty agreed to acquire AB Parfums (formerly Angelini Beauty), holder of the Trussardi fragrance license↗ wwd.com
Prada Group completed acquisition of Versace from Capri Holdings for US$1.375 billion (2 Dec 2025).↗ en.wikipedia.org
OTB completed acquisition of 100% of Viktor&Rolf (announced 4 June 2026)↗ otb.net
Warpaint London acquired Brand Architekts (complementary health and beauty brands).↗ warpaintlondonplc.com
Multiply Group (UAE / 2PointZero) acquires 67.91% of Tendam↗ fashionunited.uk
Co-founders acquired jewellery brands Maison Poiray and Aurélie Bidermann↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired rhode (Hailey Bieber) for up to $1 billion↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Ellenowner · Addeira Pharmaceuticals AB
Acquired by Addeira↗ cbinsights.com
- Biodrogaowner · BCG Baden-Baden Cosmetics Group GmbH
Operated as a brand within BCG Baden-Baden Cosmetics Group GmbH (parent company, alongside sibling brands Sans Soucis, Apothecary Dr. Scheller, BIO:VEGANE)↗ bcg-cosmetics.com
Acquired Repair Care, a Dutch wood-repair and maintenance products company, expanding the adhesives division↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Glysolidowner · BurnusCare GmbH
Burnus acquired the Snoek company in Worblingen, owner of the GLYSOLID brand; the Worblingen factory still produces Glysolid (acquisition year not stated in source; year field is a placeholder and unconfirmed).↗ burnus.de
- David Beckhamlicensee · Coty Inc.
Interparfums announces 20-year exclusive global license for David Beckham fragrances from Authentic Brands Group, with full responsibility beginning April 1, 2028↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
- Derma Sunowner · DermaPharm A/S
DermaPharm A/S acquired by ARCHIMED (private equity, MED III fund)↗ archimed.group
Agreed to divest its feminine-care business to Essity for approximately $340 million.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Percy Noblemanowner · Ellipsis Brands
Owned and operated by Ellipsis Brands (UK contract manufacturer and brand owner) as one of its portfolio brands alongside Q+A and THIX↗ ellipsisbrands.com
BYOMA was wholly divested from Yellow Wood portfolio company Future Beauty Brands and sold to Bansk Group (announced September 2025); the remaining self-tan brands stayed in the Yellow Wood portfolio.↗ prnewswire.com
Saffee brand absorbed into Givet SRL portfolio and rebranded; pre-Givet ownership history not publicly documented↗ unfolding-wings.com
- Jessicaowner · Gerrard International
Acquired by Gerrard International (UK) following the death of founder Jessica Vartoughian; Gerrard had managed the UK business for 35 years prior↗ beautymatter.com
- Goutal Parisowner · Inter Parfums, Inc.
Interparfums SA acquired all worldwide intellectual property rights to Maison Goutal from Amorepacific Europe (announced March 2025); Amorepacific Europe continues to operate under license, with Interparfums developing the brand from 2026↗ globenewswire.com
KKR completed its acquisition of Karo Healthcare from EQT (agreed 9 April 2025 at ~EUR 2.65bn EV; closed 27 August 2025), making KKR the current owner.↗ stblaw.com
Kimberly-Clark agreed to acquire Kenvue for ~$48.7 billion total enterprise value in a cash-and-stock deal.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Agreed to sell its beauty division (Kering Beaute, including Creed) to L'Oreal for ~EUR 4 billion.↗ cnbc.com
- KISSowner · Kiss Beauty Group
Kiss Beauty Group acquired Chillhouse (nail studio and DTC brand founded 2017 by Cyndi Ramirez-Fulton)↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired by L'Oréal (agreement signed June 30, 2025) — into L'Oréal Professional Products Division↗ loreal-finance.com
Kering sold its beauty division, including Creed, to L'Oréal for €4 billion.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Laboratoires de Biarritzowner · La Phocéenne de Cosmétique
Acquired by La Phocéenne de Cosmétique (Salon-de-Provence, France), joining group portfolio alongside Le Petit Olivier, Lovea, and Laboratoires Vendôme↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Sold British beauty retailer Space NK to Ulta Beauty.↗ businesswire.com
After an extensive auction process launched in April 2024, the Board decided to retain St.Tropez (rather than sell it) and instead formed a US strategic partnership with The Emerson Group.↗ pzcussons.com
- By Parfym.seowner · Parfym Sverige AB
Parfym.se merged with Bangerhead (Nov 2025)↗ cbinsights.com
- Pradaowner · Prada S.p.A.
Prada Group acquired Versace from Capri Holdings for €1.25 billion (completed December 2025)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Patchologyowner · Rare Beauty Brands
Parent Rare Beauty Brands (founded by/built on Patchology) acquired Kate Somerville from Unilever, including the Melrose Place clinic in Los Angeles.↗ beautyindependent.com
- treaclemoonowner · Royal Sanders B.V.
Treaclemoon brand acquired by Royal Sanders (3i Group portfolio) in a bolt-on acquisition (Feb 2025); Vendoleo GmbH, the branded provider of Treaclemoon and Oriniq in Germany/Austria, subsequently acquired by Royal Sanders in FY2026.↗ imap.com
Bain Capital and Cinven signed a definitive agreement (announced 1 September 2025) to sell a majority stake in STADA to CapVest Partners, retaining minority stakes.↗ cinven.com
- GOOVIowner · Sodalis Group
Acquired by / joined Sodalis Group↗ sodalisgroup.com
- Payotowner · USHOPAL
Full acquisition of Payot by USHOPAL (announced March 5, 2025).↗ prnewswire.com
Acquired by Unilever (reported ~£100 million; Unilever did not officially disclose terms)↗ packagingeurope.com
- Super Facialistowner · Warpaint London plc
Acquired by Warpaint London plc via the takeover of parent Brand Architekts (deal announced 5 December 2024, valued at GBP 13.88 million; completed February 2025).↗ theindustry.beauty
Coty sold its remaining 25.8% stake in Wella to KKR, making KKR the sole owner.↗ coty.com
Acquired by Doppler Holding (41% direct + 10% Vera Doppler = 51% majority)↗ oberhammer.co.at
Majority stake acquired by Sodalis Group (Italy); brands ARTDECO, Make up Factory, ANNY.↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Acquired by Doppler Holding (41% direct + 10% Vera Doppler = 51% majority)↗ oberhammer.co.at
Private-equity healthcare specialist ARCHIMED acquired a majority stake in Cellese, developer of the AnteAGE brand↗ archimed.group
Acquired majority stake in Dr. Barbara Sturm↗ puig.com
acquired_by H2 Special Purpose Vehicle d.o.o. (acquired majority shares of Magdis d.o.o.)↗ wahl.hr
Founders Elsie Rutterford and Dominika Minarovic sold BYBI in an exit; brand later passed to new ownership and leadership↗ cewuk.co.uk
Galderma IPO on SIX Swiss Exchange (parent company became public)↗ en.wikipedia.org
BeautyPro acquires Wildtree Skincare↗ linkedin.com
Sodalis Group (Italy) acquired HRB Brands including Brut for the Americas↗ businesswire.com
Acquired (majority stake) by Soleil Collective, backed by Gauge Capital; deal valued at over $100 million↗ gaugecapital.com
Clessidra Capital Credit SGR acquired full ownership of Sisma (19 Dec 2024)↗ sismaspa.it
Acquired by Megalabs (majority stake, ~$100M reported)↗ beautyindependent.com
Acquired the Morris Profumi plant, converting it from fragrance to cosmetics manufacturing↗ wwd.com
Sold by Groupe Rocher to a Turkish investor consortium↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Divested by L'Occitane Group; acquired by André Hoffmann (Lavender Investments) for €28M / A$46M↗ smartcompany.com.au
Majority stake acquired by L Catterton from Percassi family↗ prnewswire.com
Controlling shareholder Reinold Geiger moved to take the company private (delisting from Hong Kong Stock Exchange)↗ en.wikipedia.org
La Perla Manufacturing declared insolvent (February 2024)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Lacoste buys back its fragrance licence from Coty and transfers it to Interparfums.↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Lyko Group acquired remaining 60% of Loveli Beauty AB.↗ mfn.se
Acquired by Morgan Stanley PE Asia (67% stake), founder retains 33%; restructured under MDP Holdings↗ linkedin.com
Acquired by Bielenda Kosmetyki Naturalne (Bielenda Group), backed by Innova Capital — 100% stake in Kanani Europe↗ innovacap.com
Acquired by Oy Transmeri Ab from AS Madara Cosmetics for EUR 4 million (related-party transaction; Transmeri held 22.89% of Madara).↗ view.news.eu.nasdaq.com
PAI Partners becomes majority shareholder of Beautynova; Bluegem retains a significant minority.↗ paipartners.com
Mentholatum acquired Hydrox Laboratories of Chicago.↗ mentholatum.com
Give Back Beauty acquired INCC Parfums, the original Mercedes-Benz fragrance licensee since 2011↗ wwd.com
Sold to HVEG Fashion Group (Oct 1, 2024); HVEG completed purchase of RNF Group (Dec 2024).↗ en.wikipedia.org
Marek Kamola acquired majority stake↗ well.pl
ELC completed full acquisition of DECIEM for ~$860 million remaining; ~$1.7 billion total↗ glossy.co
Acquired by Bluestar Alliance from LVMH (September 2024); Farfetch retains 40%↗ hypebeast.com
Marek Kamola acquired a majority stake in Miraculum and assumed direct management (brand revival).↗ well.pl
Acquired by Lyko (e-commerce beauty retailer) from seller Nutrinovate AB; Lyko's first acquisition in the dietary-supplement category↗ view.news.eu.nasdaq.com
Bridgepoint (Bridgepoint Europe VII) acquired RoC's majority stake from Gryphon Investors (~$500M, January 2024)↗ beautymatter.com
S'Young Group (Changsha, China) acquires RéVive from Tengram Capital Partners (Oct 16, 2024); brand maintains independent operations↗ wwd.com
Humble Growth takes minority stake↗ wwd.com
Following Cofinluxe liquidation, Les Parfums Salvador Dali distribution moves to Création Beauté International (founded by Hervé Josserand)↗ creationbeauteinternational.fr
Henkel agrees to acquire Vidal Sassoon haircare brand in Greater China from P&G (~$1B; €200M+ annual sales)↗ beautymatter.com
Shrine sold by founder Jenna Meek; buyer not publicly specified in available sources↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by Advent International (private equity, LAPEF VII fund).↗ wwd.com
Yellow Wood Partners completed acquisition of Elida Beauty (incl. St. Ives NA/EU) from Unilever↗ prnewswire.com
TSG Consumer Partners takes majority strategic investment stake↗ wwd.com
Acquired by BIC for ~EUR 200 million↗ bmmagazine.co.uk
UK division put into administration by Aurelius on 15 February 2024 (FRP Advisory administrators); British business then acquired by Auréa Group, consortium led by Mike Jatania, on 7 September 2024↗ en.wikipedia.org
Parent DECIEM: Estée Lauder Companies completed acquisition of remaining interests (majority since 2021), ~US$860M for the final tranche, ~US$1.7B total.↗ elcompanies.com
Estée Lauder completes full acquisition of DECIEM (~$1.7 billion total over three tranches)↗ elcompanies.com
Tous family repurchased the Partners Group stake, returning to full family ownership↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by Bielenda Kosmetyki Naturalne (100% of Torf Corporation Sp. z o.o.; previous majority owner Resource Partners; transaction backed by Innova Capital)↗ ccprogres.pl
Unilever's Elida Beauty unit (including VO5 outside the US) sold to Yellow Wood Partners; completed June 6, 2024.↗ prnewswire.com
Bought back by founder Alyson Hogg from Crown Laboratories↗ beautymatter.com
Yellow Wood Partners completed acquisition of Elida Beauty (including European Williams brand) from Unilever on June 6, 2024↗ yellowwoodpartners.com
Beautynova acquired by PAI Partners↗ wwd.com
- Skyn ICELANDowner · Amerikas
Acquired by Amerikas (US distributor)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Increased its stake in K-beauty skincare brand COSRX to roughly 93%, consolidating COSRX as a subsidiary (after an initial 38.4% stake in 2021).↗ beautymatter.com
- JVN Hairowner · Belle Brands
Acquired by Windsong Global from Amyris at auction for US$1.25 million.↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Acquired Italian jewellery brand Vhernier.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Agreed to sell Yoox Net-a-Porter (YNAP) to Mytheresa.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Decléorowner · Cospal
Acquired by Cospal (founded by Matthieu Lesieur)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Brand IP acquired by WHP Global↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Nude by Natureowner · DBG Health
Acquired by Dennis Bastas (DBG Health / VidaCorp) for $60 million, together with Makeup Cartel; previous owner Crescent Capital Partners had held it for a decade↗ retailbeauty.com.au
- Hickapowner · Dermoshop Oy (Finland) - majority owner since 2024
Acquired (majority stake) by Dermoshop Oy (Korsns, Finland)↗ sv.dermosil.fi
- Korloffowner · Extend Beauty
Korloff Parfums acquired by Extend Beauty (June 2024).↗ extendbeauty.com
- SKIN1004owner · Goodai Global
Acquired by Goodai Global (owned by Craver Corporation); brand grew internationally via Amazon and TikTok before acquisition. Year approximate/unspecified in source.↗ whoownsthatbrand.com
- SVRowner · Kresk Développement
HLD sold Laboratoires SVR to Kresk Développement (family office of Didier Tabary); brand valued at approximately €240M↗ groupehld.com
- STENDERSowner · L Catterton
Acquired (majority stake) by L Catterton.↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Taken private by controlling shareholder Reinold Geiger via L'Occitane Groupe S.A. (€6 billion-plus deal financed in part by Blackstone and Goldman Sachs Asset Management); delisted from the Hong Kong Stock Exchange↗ skadden.com
- Matiere Premiereowner · L'Oréal
Kering Beauté acquired minority stake in Matière Première↗ glossy.co
- D.S. & Durgaowner · Manzanita Capital
Acquired by Manzanita Capital↗ en.wikipedia.org
Creation of in-house brand Spezieria di San Marco.↗ mavive.com
- Trussardiowner · Miroglio Group
Miroglio Group acquired Trussardi; Alberto Racca named CEO↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Matter of Factowner · Next8 Investments
Acquired by Next8 Investments↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
- Earth Rhythmowner · Nykaa
Acquired by Nykaa (majority stake via combination of primary and secondary transactions; became a subsidiary).↗ beautymatter.com
- Nails.INCowner · Pacific World Corporation
Acquired by Pacific World Corporation (October 2024)↗ theindustry.beauty
Acquired by Puig (Spanish conglomerate, owner of Carolina Herrera, Rabanne, Charlotte Tilbury, Byredo, Penhaligon's). Dr. Sturm retained a minority stake and continues as Chief Product Development Officer.↗ businessoffashion.com
- La Compagnie de Provenceowner · Rampal Latour
Acquired by Rampal Latour (French Savon de Marseille manufacturer, based in Salon-de-Provence) for undisclosed sum, August 14, 2024.↗ premiumbeautynews.com
- Abicareowner · Repolar Pharmaceuticals Oy
Evolver Equity, a growth partner for Nordic SMEs, took a growth-partnership stake in parent Repolar Pharmaceuticals (amount undisclosed).↗ paaomasijoittajat.fi
- AMUSEowner · Shinsegae International
Acquired by Shinsegae International from Snow Corp (Naver subsidiary) for ~$51.6 million↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired by Shiseido Americas Corporation (agreement signed Dec 22, 2023; completed Feb 2024) for $450 million; legal entity DDG Skincare Holdings LLC↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Agreed to acquire a majority stake in the German Artdeco Cosmetics Group (announced May 2024)↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired HRB Brands (High Ridge Brands; Alberto VO5, Zest, Coast, Brut, Pert, Sure, Rave, Thicker Fuller Hair) from Tengram Capital Partners↗ peprofessional.com
- RIOowner · The Dezac Group Ltd
The Dezac Group acquired Reviber↗ dezac.co.uk
THE R.Brand Group acquires significant Baldessarini (fashion label) assets↗ baldessarini.com
Acquired Torf Corporation (Tołpa and ON brands)↗ beautymatter.com
Amorepacific exercised call option to reach 93.2% ownership, incorporating COSRX as a subsidiary (deal completed 2024)↗ prnewswire.com
Creed was acquired by Kering for €3.5 billion.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by Lyko Group AB (publ)↗ delphi.se
CoBe Capital acquires LOGOCOS from L'Oréal (closed March 2023).↗ cobecapital.com
Acquired by Advent International (majority stake); founder Julien Sprecher retained large minority share and roles as Executive Chairman and Creative Director.↗ adventinternational.com
Founder Karen Behnke sold her majority stake in Juice Beauty.↗ karenbehnke.com
Kevin Murphy Group acquired Showpony (hair extensions)↗ beautymatter.com
Kappus itself acquired by Roell Partners GmbH↗ de.wikipedia.org
Marc Jacobs International signed expanded long-term license with Coty bringing Marc Jacobs Beauty (makeup) into Coty's portfolio (revival; makeup had ended its Kendo Brands partnership in late 2021)↗ coty.com
L Catterton's Europe fund acquired a significant minority stake (undisclosed terms)↗ beautymatter.com
Parent Matas Group acquired KICKS (226 stores across Sweden, Norway, Finland), becoming Nordic market leader.↗ svanen.se
Johnson & Johnson spun off its consumer-health business as Kenvue (NYSE: KVUE); Maui Moisture moved under Kenvue.↗ gcimagazine.com
Forma Brands (Morphe's parent) acquired out of Chapter 11 by creditors &vest, Jefferies Finance LLC and Cerberus Capital Management for $690 million in debt relief; emerged from bankruptcy April 12, 2023↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
NACIFIC's owner Abill Korea acquired by The Skin Factory (KUNDAL); Nacific continues as the group's skincare brand↗ globenewswire.com
Acquired by Advent International (majority stake); Julien Sprecher remains SBGC Chairman and Creative Director with significant minority stake. Deal valued by industry sources at over $700 million.↗ beautymatter.com
B. Cosmétique liquidated (November 2023); brand subsequently relaunched with financial backing from an international group↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Ariana Grande acquired the brand's physical assets for an estimated $15 million after parent Forma Brands filed for bankruptcy, taking it under her full ownership↗ en.wikipedia.org
Kenvue Inc. spun off from Johnson & Johnson as standalone public company (May 2023); Rogaine becomes part of Kenvue's portfolio↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by AA Investments (HK) Ltd. (Hong Kong asset management firm) for $2.5 million in December 2023, following Amyris bankruptcy.↗ glossy.co
Acquired by Pomélo + Co GmbH (subsidiary of Mondrian Labs Inc., New York).↗ myshyne.com
CoBe Capital acquired LOGOCOS from L'Oréal (completed 2 March 2023); carved out as independent company again↗ cobecapital.com
Nirvana Brands (UK, est. 2002 by Dilesh Mehta) acquired Lovely Distribution Company, the vehicle holding the SJP fragrance collection (May 22, 2023)↗ beautymatter.com
Completed separation from JS Global; became independent public company↗ en.wikipedia.org
Minority investment by Unilever Ventures (first institutional financing round); not a full acquisition↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Kering acquired a 30% stake in Valentino fashion house (Mayhoola retains 70%)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired Naturium skincare brand for $355 million↗ en.wikipedia.org
s.Oliver Group acquired lala Berlin↗ soliver-group.com
- Natura Sibericaowner · AFK Sistema
Acquired by AFK Sistema via 100% purchase of JSC Organic Rus↗ tass.com
- The Body Shopowner · Auréa Group
Sold by Natura to Aurelius, a German private equity group, for £207 million (November 2023)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Berner acquired Naviter Ltd, a Finnish manufacturer of skin and hair care products (Pure=Beauty / cosmetics), expanding its own cosmetics portfolio.↗ mcfcorpfin.com
Acquired a 70% stake in Italian shoemaker Gianvito Rossi.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Eugène Permaowner · Consortium: Superga Beauty, Naturopera, Alfaparf Milano
Acquired out of receivership by Superga Beauty / Naturopera / Alfaparf Milano consortium↗ beautymatter.com
- Organic Shopowner · Eurobio Lab OÜ
Russian conglomerate AFK Sistema acquired 100% of the Natura Siberica group (via JSC Organic Rus); pertains to the Russian leg of the post-2021 split, not the Estonian Eurobio Lab arm that operates Organic Shop↗ en.wikipedia.org
Divested its business operations in Russia.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- This Worksowner · Inspirit Capital
Acquired by Inspirit Capital (corporate carve-out from Canopy Growth)↗ inspiritcap.com
- Bondi Sandsowner · Kao Corporation
Acquired by Kao Corporation (Japanese chemical and cosmetics company)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Karo Healthcare completed the acquisition of the rights to the global OTC brand Lamisil from Haleon (announced 1 November 2023).↗ karohealthcare.com
- Aveenoowner · Kenvue Inc.
Johnson & Johnson spun off its consumer health division as Kenvue (fully independent public company May 2023); Aveeno became a Kenvue brand.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Clean & Clearowner · Kenvue Inc.
Transferred to Kenvue via Johnson & Johnson consumer-health spinoff↗ cnbc.com
- Johnson'sowner · Kenvue Inc.
Johnson & Johnson consumer health division (including Johnson's Baby) spun off into Kenvue Inc.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Piz Buinowner · Kenvue Inc.
Brand sits within Kenvue, the consumer-health company spun off from Johnson & Johnson (Kenvue listed on the NYSE in 2023).↗ en.wikipedia.org
Launched in-house beauty arm Kering Beaute and acquired the luxury fragrance company Creed.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by L'Oréal for ~A$3.7 billion / US$2.5 billion (€2.3bn); completed 30 August 2023 — L'Oréal's largest acquisition ever↗ cnn.com
Acquired by LG Household & Health Care (75% stake in parent Vivawave, 42.5 billion won / $31.5 million)↗ beautymatter.com
- LOGONAowner · LOGOCOS Naturkosmetik
Sold by L'Oréal to CoBe Capital (US private equity / individual business unit acquirer)↗ cobecapital.com
- Ida Warg Beautyowner · Lumene Group
Acquired by Lumene Group (Finland)↗ lumenegroup.com
- Malbrumowner · Masque Artistic Fragrances
Joined Masque Artistic Fragrances group (Masque srl, Pioltello, Milano, Italy) — Vol. III was the first collection released under the new aegis↗ fragrantica.com
- Pomélo+Coowner · Mondrian Labs Inc
Pomélo + Co GmbH (Mondrian Labs subsidiary) acquired all assets of Shyne Labs AG, adding the SHYNE hair-coloration brand↗ cms.law
- DHCowner · Orix
Acquired by Orix↗ en.wikipedia.org
- MÊME Cosmeticsowner · Pierre Fabre
Acquired in full by Pierre Fabre Group from co-founders and Eutopia VC's Otium Consumer fund.↗ pierre-fabre.com
- Mielle Organicsowner · Procter & Gamble
Berkshire Partners sold its stake to Procter & Gamble on January 12, 2023; Mielle operates as an independent P&G Beauty subsidiary↗ berkshirepartners.com
Emerged from Chapter 11 in May 2023; ~$2.7B of debt swapped for equity, with former creditors taking control as Revlon Group Holdings LLC↗ paulweiss.com
- Missguidedowner · Shein
Frasers Group sold the Missguided branding rights and intellectual property to Shein on 30 October 2023; Shein operates the brand via a joint venture with Nitin Passi's firm Sumwon Studios.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquisition of Goovi, its first digitally native brand↗ sodalisgroup.com
- Loving Tanowner · Soleil Collective LLC
Acquired by Soleil Collective↗ mergr.com
- The Bluebeards Revengeowner · Stephensons Online Ltd
Acquired by Stephensons Online Ltd effective June 1, 2023↗ uk.linkedin.com
- ZIIPowner · The Beauty Tech Group
Acquired by The Beauty Tech Group, parent of CurrentBody and Tria Laser↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Acquired by The Estée Lauder Companies for $2.8 billion enterprise value (~$2.3 billion paid net of a $250M Marcolin payment); ELC became sole owner of the brand and all IP. Zegna Group took control of the fashion business via long-term license; Marcolin continued as eyewear licensee.↗ wwd.com
- Le Monde Gourmandowner · Tru Fragrance & Beauty
Parent company Tru Fragrance & Beauty: Monogram Capital Partners (LA-based PE firm) acquired a majority stake↗ drugstorenews.com
Acquired by Unilever (announced 2023, expected to close Q1 2024); undisclosed amount↗ unilever.com
- Miss Sophieowner · Wilde Cosmetics GmbH
Acquired by WildeGroup (Wilde Cosmetics GmbH)↗ fyb.de
- Luonkosowner · eBrands Global Oy
Acquired by eBrands Global Oy↗ thefinlandbusinesspress.fi
THOM (GOLDSTORY) takes 100% control↗ worthpoint.com
Acquired majority stake in Byredo; majority of Kama Ayurveda and Loto del Sur↗ puig.com
Sophie Maisant acquired Bastille (created 2020 by Marie-Hortense Varin).↗ bastilleparfums.com
Acquired ILIA Beauty↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired Emma Hardie and Brodie & Stone businesses↗ potterandmooreplc.com
Acquired Childs Farm↗ pzcussons.com
Lyko AB acquired 10% minority stake in Eyracure AB.↗ view.news.eu.nasdaq.com
Acquired by L'OCCITANE Group (majority stake)↗ group.loccitane.com
USP Group / USP Zdrowie (via Luxembourg-based Medvic) agreed to acquire 75% majority stake; finalized early 2023 after UOKiK approval↗ wiadomoscikosmetyczne.pl
Majority stake acquired by Famille C (Courtin-Clarins family holding company); Clarins holds a minority stake↗ beautymatter.com
Axcel sells IsaDora to an investor consortium↗ axcel.com
Ownership transferred to Kenvue (J&J consumer-health spin-off).↗ fr.wikipedia.org
Minority/growth investment from Quilvest Capital Partners↗ fr.wikipedia.org
Acquired by three sisters (family business)↗ lipglam.com
Lyko Group acquired 40% of Loveli Beauty AB (owner of Love'n Layer).↗ mfn.se
Acquired out of administration by Frasers Group for around £20 million on 1 June 2022; founder Nitin Passi rejoined as CEO of Missguided.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by Adamantem Capital (majority strategic investor, Vintage Fund II)↗ adamantem.com.au
Waldencast Acquisition Corp. (SPAC) acquires Obagi and Milk Makeup, forming a platform with ~$1.2 billion pro forma enterprise value↗ beautyindependent.com
Acquired by F&F Holdings (South Korea) for $63 million.↗ vintageclothingguides.com
Acquired by Antoine de Larocque (backed by Jacques Veyrat / Impala)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
St. Ives (NA & Europe) folded into Elida Beauty, a Unilever business unit formed in 2021↗ unilever.com
Ownership transferred to a consortium led by Bardin Hill Capital after Delaware court ended Tilton's control↗ glossy.co
Tommy Hilfiger beauty/fragrance license moves to Give Back Beauty after ~30 years with Estée Lauder (Lauder Aramis & Designer Fragrances division wound down; Lauder contract closes June 2023)↗ globalcosmeticsnews.com
Wella acquires eco-haircare brand Briogeo.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Sylphar International NV (owner of iWhite) acquired by Karo Pharma / Karo Healthcare for EUR 290m; completed January 2022↗ karohealthcare.com
- Nimue Skin Technologyowner · Amka Products
Sold by Ascendis Health to Amka Products for R102 million↗ news24.com
- Tata Harperowner · Amorepacific
Acquired by Amorepacific↗ prnewswire.com
- John Masters Organicsowner · Aspirant Group
Acquired by Aspirant Group (Japanese private equity)↗ avcj.com
- amikaowner · Bansk Group
Bansk Group acquired majority stake in amika↗ beautymatter.com
- BELLAMI Hairowner · Beauty Industry Group
Acquired by Beauty Industry Group (BIG), a portfolio company backed by L Catterton and HGGC↗ prnewswire.com
- Chantecailleowner · Beiersdorf AG
Acquired by Beiersdorf AG (announced Dec 21, 2021; completed Feb 1, 2022; enterprise value reported ~USD 590 million)↗ beiersdorf.com
- Indy Beautyowner · CCS Skincare Brands AB
Acquired in full by CCS Skincare Brands AB (Lindgren sold her remaining ~20% stake)↗ gp.se
Acquired by Church & Dwight Co., Inc. for $630 million (5.5X the $115M trailing-12-month sales; 14X the $45M EBITDA)↗ beautyindependent.com
- Olivalowner · Cosmetics International
Acquired by Cosmetics International (Croatia). Court registered 26 January 2022, effective 9 February 2022.↗ seenews.com
- Tecnaowner · Cotril Group
Acquired (majority share) by Cotril SpA (Bollate / Milan); Tecna continues as a brand within Cotril Group↗ esteticaexport.com
- SPECIAL 1owner · Cutrin Norge
Parent company Cutrin Norge acquired by Storskogen (Swedish industrial group) as add-on within Health and Beauty vertical; Rune Langørgen retained as CEO.↗ storskogen.com
- Supplyowner · Foundry Brands
Acquired by Foundry Brands↗ dallasinnovates.com
- Bondi Boostowner · Gauge Capital
Acquired by Gauge Capital (US private equity); now operates under Performance Beauty Group↗ retailbeauty.com.au
- HelloBodyowner · Grenion GmbH
Acquired by Grenion Group from Henkel (Grenion's first acquisition, buy-&-build strategy)↗ startbase.com
- Les Senteurs Gourmandesowner · Groupe Novi
Acquired by Groupe Novi (alongside organic-care brand Pur Eden).↗ groupe-novi.com
- Driclorowner · Haleon
Spun off from GSK into Haleon (Haleon established 18 July 2022)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Curlsmithowner · Helen of Troy
Acquired by Helen of Troy for $150 million in cash (April 2022)↗ beautyindependent.com
Acquired a majority stake in Grown Alchemist (later divested in 2024)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- skinbetter scienceowner · L'Oréal
Acquired by L'Oréal↗ wwd.com
Acquired a 65% stake in Los Angeles-based beauty brand The Creme Shop for ~KRW 148.5 billion ($120.2 million)↗ kedglobal.com
- Youngblood Mineral Cosmeticsowner · Luxury Brands LLC
Acquired by Luxury Brands LLC (founded 2017 by Michael Dodo). Same portfolio includes FHI Heat, Stylus, Neo Bond, Hair Veil, Daily Beauty.↗ prnewswire.com
- Rebecca Stella Beautyowner · Lyko
Acquired by Lyko (entire brand; purchase price not disclosed)↗ lyko.com
Sold fragrance brand Byredo to Puig.↗ manzanitacapital.com
Creation of in-house brand ALPS.↗ mavive.com
- MenWith Skincareowner · MeWi Ventures
MeWi Ventures (Robert Malmqvist, Gustaf Oscarson, Tommy Kullberg) acquired majority stake; Daniel Frank exited as owner↗ breakit.se
- Brooklyn Soap Companyowner · Merz Consumer Care GmbH
Acquired 100% by Merz Consumer Care GmbH↗ cosmetic-business.com
Orkla Health acquired 100% of the shares of Healthspan Group Limited.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Byredoowner · Puig Brands, S.A.
Acquired by Puig (Spanish conglomerate), majority stake from Manzanita Capital, May 2022; reported valuation ~€1 billion.↗ beautymatter.com
Filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection (June 16, 2022)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- BH Cosmeticsowner · Revolution Beauty
Acquired by Revolution Beauty Group (out of bankruptcy) for USD 3.9 million↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Acquired Stella Pack (Poland)↗ sarantisgroup.com
Acquired by Shiseido (Shiseido Europe S.A. acquired all outstanding shares).↗ corp.shiseido.com
- Nailberryowner · Silverwood Brands Plc
Acquired by Silverwood Brands PLC (£6m initial cash consideration plus up to £4m deferred shares; Sonia Hully remained as director)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
- Under Your Skinowner · Tenth Avenue Holdings, LLC
Acquired (majority stake) by Tenth Avenue Holdings, LLC↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired Tom Ford in a deal worth $2.8 billion↗ en.wikipedia.org
- The INKEY Listowner · Unilever
Minority investment by Aria Growth Partners; existing backing from Unilever Ventures. Brand remains independent with minority institutional stakes.↗ prnewswire.com
- Milk Makeupowner · Waldencast plc
Acquired by Waldencast Partners LP along with Obagi in a ~$1.2 billion three-way business combination↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Briogeoowner · Wella Company
Acquired by Wella Company for an undisclosed sum (reported sales exceeding $100 million); Wella's first major purchase under KKR ownership↗ wwd.com
Acquired by THOM (with Altesse) out of receivership↗ thomgroup.com
Solingen leather-goods factory integrated into Becker Manicure GmbH & Co. KG↗ becker-solingen.com
Acquired $10M Series A investment from Ananta Capital↗ bellavitaorganic.com
Acquired by Sodalis Group from Meiyume (December 31, 2021)↗ beautymatter.com
High Ridge Brands (HRB) acquired Brut from Helen of Troy↗ businesswire.com
Healthpoint Ltd acquired by Dayes B.V. (Netherlands), generating 3.1x return for Maven investors↗ mavencp.com
Reckitt sold the international Scholl brand to Yellow Wood Partners (June 2021), reuniting the US and international businesses under one owner after 30-40+ years; deal also included Amopé, Krack and Eulactol↗ beautymatter.com
Bluegem Capital Partners acquired a 70% stake in Ecooking and House of Cosmetics (March 30, 2021); founder Tina Søgaard retained 30%.↗ bluegemcp.com
Fragrance and cosmetics license moved to Brands Beyond Beauty (Switzerland), effective 1 January 2021.↗ fashionunited.uk
Acquired by L Catterton (60% stake)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by MIP Holdings Ltd for £29 million; taken private after 37 years on London Stock Exchange↗ fibre2fashion.com
Groupe Rocher took 100% ownership↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Acquired California-based professional skincare company Alastin↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired 41 Nocibé perfumeries from Douglas.↗ wwd.com
Jeep marque becomes part of Stellantis (Fiat Chrysler Automobiles + PSA Group merger)↗ en.wikipedia.org
OTB Group acquired 100% ownership↗ en.wikipedia.org
John Richmond fragrance license acquired by Italart Co. SRL↗ italartprofumi.com
Acquired by Juggernaut Capital Partners (from WestView Capital Partners)↗ juggernautcap.com
Verdane became majority owner of Lumene and Cutrin↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired jointly by TDJ and Leszek Kłosiński↗ tdj.pl
Ulrich Wiethoff acquires the company as sole shareholder.↗ merkur-razors.com
Berkshire Partners invested in Mielle (growth investment, March 2021)↗ berkshirepartners.com
Aeffe S.p.A. acquired the remaining 30% stake, gaining full control of Moschino for more than 66.5 million euros↗ wwd.com
ELC increased ownership in DECIEM to ~76% (majority stake) for ~$1 billion↗ glossy.co
Acquired by Lyko Group AB (90.05% stake, SEK 10.3 million upfront, agreement dated 2021-08-02; founder Hans Algeskog remained CEO)↗ avanza.se
HSA Cosmetics 60%-acquired by Tec Beauty / The Equity Club (~EUR 30M deal). Zanzi family kept minority stake + managerial control.↗ esteticaexport.com
LVMH acquires 60% stake in Off-White (July 2021)↗ en.wikipedia.org
IPO on Nasdaq (ticker OLPX) following the Advent acquisition; valued at approximately $14 billion↗ glossy.co
Minority investment by Natura & Co via Fable Investments (terms not disclosed).↗ beautymatter.com
Philips Domestic Appliances purchased by Hillhouse Capital for $4.4 billion; renamed Versuni, continues selling small (kitchen) appliances under the Philips brand under license. Personal Health (shavers/grooming/Lumea/Sonicare) was NOT part of this divestment and remains with Royal Philips.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Parent Sylphar acquired by Karo Pharma for EUR 290 million (completed Jan 2022)↗ karohealthcare.com
Italmobiliare acquired the entirety of the capital.↗ en.wikipedia.org
KKR acquired majority stake in Wella Company from Coty.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Parent Nesperta majority-acquired by Resource Partners (Polish private equity); founder Tomasz Gołębiewski continued as CEO post-transaction↗ resourcepartners.pl
Acquired by Crown Laboratories↗ wwd.com
Acquired majority stake by Blackstone Growth (BXG); Thaggard and Emery families and prior investors retained equity.↗ blackstone.com
Majority stake acquired by Mayfair Equity Partners (~GBP 70 million)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Estée Lauder takes majority control (76%)↗ retaildive.com
Acquired by Certina Holding AG (May 2021)↗ ust-germany.com
Acquired by Lyko Group AB (publ) — purchased INZO Lars Bratt AB (founded 1996) including the Waterclouds brand.↗ lyko.com
Sold by Shiseido to Advent International; operated under Orveon Global↗ makeup-101.com
- COSRXowner · Amorepacific
Amorepacific acquired 38.4% stake in COSRX↗ prnewswire.com
Announced acquisition of Reebok from Adidas (closed 2022, valued at over US$2.5 billion)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by Berner Oy (via purchase of Naviter Oy's full share capital)↗ berner.fi
Acquired by Berner Oy via Naviter Ltd acquisition (signed Dec 2, 2021)↗ berner.fi
- Pure=Beautyowner · Berner Oy
Acquired by Berner Oy (via Naviter Oy acquisition, 2 December 2021)↗ berner.fi
Acquired Wild Planet Foods, a leading US producer of sustainable canned fish↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Altesse Studioowner · Chargeurs
Fournival Altesse acquired by Chargeurs (Chargeurs Personal Care / Healthcare Solutions); finalized April 2021↗ chargeurs.com
Acquired TheraBreath (oral-care brand) for $580 million.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Vexienneowner · Coegin Pharma AB
Coegin Pharma merged with / acquired Follicum AB (Sweden), acquiring the osteopontin-peptide hair-growth technology later branded Follicopeptide↗ hairlosscure2020.com
- Emma Hardieowner · Creightons PLC
Acquired by Creightons plc for £6.3m (completed 29 July 2021)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
- Dr. Organicowner · Damier Group
Acquired by Damier Group (Belgian PE, Yvan Vindevogel) from The Bountiful Company (KKR & Carlyle Group)↗ eubelius.com
- Gentlemen's Hardwareowner · DesignWorks Collective
Acquired by DesignWorks Collective (from Wild & Wolf)↗ rwkgoodman.com
Acquired women's shaving brand Billie for approximately $310 million.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Olivaowner · Evolan Pharma AB
Divested by Karo Pharma to Evolan Pharma AB (current owner)↗ karohealthcare.com
- Add Some Re-Boostowner · Grazette of Sweden
Grazette of Sweden AB acquired by Lyko Group AB (publ) — 90.05% stake, 10.3 MSEK upfront plus up to 40.5 MSEK earn-out over 2.5 years↗ news.cision.com
- Addmino 18owner · HSA Cosmetics
Parent company HSA Cosmetics acquired by Tec Beauty SpA↗ hsacosmetics.com
- Kevyn Aucoin Beautyowner · Harmay
Acquired by Harmay (Beijing Harmay Lexiang Technology)↗ beautymatter.com
- Tints of Natureowner · Herb UK Ltd
Parent Herb UK acquired herbals brand Bio-Health↗ naturalnewsdesk.co.uk
- Hairburstowner · JD Sports Fashion plc
Acquired by JD Sports (majority stake, terms undisclosed)↗ theindustry.beauty
- Kerstin Florianowner · KFI Spa Management AB
Acquired by KFI Spa Management AB (CEO Helena Carlsson), Stockholm, Sweden↗ kerstinflorian.se
- Apobaseowner · Karo Healthcare AB
Acquired by Karo Healthcare from Teva Pharmaceuticals (part of EUR 84m OTC portfolio deal; previously licensed to Karo from 2019)↗ karohealthcare.com
- Decubalowner · Karo Healthcare AB
Acquired by Karo Pharma (now Karo Healthcare) from Teva Pharmaceuticals as part of a six-brand OTC portfolio (Flux, Decubal, Lactocare, Apobase, Dailycare, Fludent) for EUR 84 million.↗ karohealthcare.com
Johnson & Johnson announced it would spin off its consumer health division into a separate company.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Sol de Janeiroowner · L'Occitane Group
Acquired by Groupe L'Occitane (83% stake, US$450M valuation)↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Inflexion (private equity) invested in parent company Pangaea Laboratories.↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
- Youth To The Peopleowner · L'Oréal
Acquired by L'Oréal (December 8, 2021). Deal terms undisclosed. Integrated into L'Oréal Luxe division.↗ loreal.com
Acquired by LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton for $15.8 billion↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Cutrinowner · Lumene Group
Verdane became majority owner of Lumene Group (parent of Cutrin) on 29 September 2021, acquiring stake from Langholm Capital Partners↗ beautymatter.com
- Make Up Storeowner · Lyko
Acquired by Lyko Group AB (bankruptcy-estate purchase, 11.1 million SEK)↗ lyko.com
- BeauTerraowner · Mayoly
Acquired by Mayoly (Laboratoires Mayoly Spindler)↗ mayoly.com
- MineTanowner · Mibelle Group
MARQ Labs Inc. (parent of MineTan) acquired by Mibelle Group (Switzerland, part of Migros Industrie) on 23 December 2021.↗ mibellegroup.com
- Zilliowner · Negma Group
ZILLI acquired by Negma Group and Futuro all'Impresa (FAI).↗ cpp-luxury.com
- No7owner · No7 Beauty Company
Operated under Walgreens Boots Alliance, spun into standalone No7 Beauty Company↗ en.wikipedia.org
Completed acquisition of Jil Sander↗ otb.net
- Buxomowner · Orveon Global
Acquired by Advent International from Shiseido Americas; placed under new parent Orveon Global↗ stocktitan.net
- Laura Mercierowner · Orveon Global Ltd
Advent International acquired bareMinerals, BUXOM and Laura Mercier from Shiseido Americas and launched them under new company Orveon Global (closed December 6, 2021)↗ prnewswire.com
- OUAIowner · Procter & Gamble
Acquired by Procter & Gamble↗ beautymatter.com
- Kappusowner · Roell Partners GmbH
Kappus acquires CosSavon (Kehl) / ADA Cosmetics International GmbH in Kehl↗ kappus.com
Divested bareMinerals, BUXOM and Laura Mercier to Advent International.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Divested personal care business to CVC.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Triple Dryowner · Sodalis Group
Acquired by Sodalis Group from Meiyume (Lornamead Germany + UK brands package)↗ sodalisgroup.com
- PHLURowner · The Center
Acquired by The Center (founded by Ben Bennett) in February 2021↗ wwd.com
Acquired Deciem Beauty Group (The Ordinary, NIOD)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Biozellowner · Transmeri
Acquired by Transmeri (from Norlas Oy)↗ transmerigroup.fi
- Paula's Choiceowner · Unilever
Acquired by Unilever from TA Associates Management, L.P. and Bertram Capital Management, LLC (completed Aug 3, 2021; agreement signed June 14, 2021).↗ unilever.com
- Victoria's Secretowner · Victoria's Secret & Co.
Spun off from L Brands as independent Victoria's Secret & Co.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Kjaer Weisowner · Waldencast
Waldencast Ventures acquired a majority stake in Kjaer Weis (initial investment March 2020; majority stake announced June 2021). Founder remains second-largest stakeholder overseeing product development and creative direction; Gillian Gorman Round appointed CEO.↗ beautymatter.com
- UNOVEowner · Wyatt Corporation
Wyatt Corporation (UNOVE/Dr.FORHAIR parent) secured $41 million investment↗ beautymatter.com
- Eve Lomowner · Yatsen Holding Limited
Acquired by Yatsen Holding Limited from Manzanita Capital (which had owned the brand for nearly 20 years and retained a minority stake)↗ beautymatter.com
- CurrentBodyowner · eComplete
Majority stake acquired by eComplete (£50m, November 2021)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Acquired majority stake in Charlotte Tilbury↗ puig.com
Acquired Soraya and Dermika brands from Norway's Orkla Group↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Venture-capital firm Verdane acquired a stake (~62% ownership by 2025); Bianca Ingrosso retains ~12.5%↗ sv.wikipedia.org
Coty completed sale of Wella, Clairol, OPI and ghd brands stake to KKR for US$2.5 billion; brands now operate under Wella Company.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Divested fragrance division (Mugler and Azzaro) to L'Oreal↗ en.wikipedia.org
BlackRock announced it would become the majority shareholder of Creed.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Culti Milano acquired Scent Company↗ mynthcapital.com
Acquired by Clarion Capital Partners; corporate entity rebranded from Ecoco Inc. to Estyle Corp LLC; HQ moved from Chicago to Jacksonville, FL↗ clarion-capital.com
Escada filed for insolvency again (September 2020)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Brown family acquired majority stake from Beach House Group (which became minority stakeholder)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired Hinds®, Eclipsol®, and Capent® brands from GSK.↗ grisi.com
Acquired by Henkel (75% majority stake in parent Invincible Brands; Capital D retained 25%)↗ businessinsider.de
Svenska Krmfabriken bought half of Hickap↗ sv.dermosil.fi
Permira exited to the Noda family↗ avcj.com
Italian investment firm AF1 acquired a 55% stake in Layla Cosmetics.↗ us.fashionnetwork.com
KKR acquires 60% of Wella Professional Beauty (incl. Londa Professional) from Coty for $4.3bn enterprise value; Wella Company established as independent standalone entity.↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Moncler acquired Italian sportswear brand Stone Island for €1.15 billion↗ en.wikipedia.org
Panzeri Diffusion (parent of No Inhibition / z.one concept) acquired by Bluegem Capital Partners through subsidiary Pool Service, forming BeautyNova group (~€130m, Italy's 3rd largest hair care group)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Minority investment by Patina Brands.↗ beautymatter.com
Parent Ales Groupe entered administration (July 2020); cosmetics division sold to holding company Impala for 13.5 million euros, haircare taken over by managers↗ en.wikipedia.org
Owned by B. Cosmétique (founded by Charles Dupont and Diane de Comte)↗ premiumbeautynews.com
Sassoon Professional included in Coty's Professional & Retail Hair business majority sale to KKR (Wella portfolio)↗ coty.com
KKR became majority owner of the Wella Company (74.1%); Coty retained a minority stake.↗ en.wikipedia.org
T. LeClerc and Innoxa purchased by Frédéric Poux from Laboratoires Visiomed.↗ wwd.com
Beauty/fragrance license transferred to Shiseido (partnership announced Aug 2019, effective Jan 2020)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Growth investment by eEquity (SEK 30 million); founder remained largest shareholder↗ eequity.se
Wella Company established and divested from Coty; operates as an independent entity majority-owned by KKR.↗ wellacompany.com
Coty sold a stake to KKR for $2.5 billion (Coty retained 40%)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Panzeri Diffusion (parent of milk_shake) acquired by Bluegem Capital Partners; merged into Beautynova↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
Acquired Forever 21 (with Simon Property Group)↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired Brooks Brothers↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired the natural cosmetics brand Stop the Water While Using Me (later discontinued in 2023)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Dermikaowner · Bielenda Group S.A.
Acquired by Bielenda Group S.A. from Orkla Care Poland↗ pl.wikipedia.org
- Sorayaowner · Bielenda Kosmetyki Naturalne S.A.
Acquired by Bielenda Kosmetyki Naturalne from Orkla Care Poland / Orkla Group (Norway)↗ cosmeticsbusiness.com
- Elancylowner · Cantabria Labs
Acquired by Cantabria Labs from Pierre Fabre. Pierre Fabre had owned the brand since founding in 1971 (45 years). Divestiture aligned with Pierre Fabre's strategy to focus on dermatologist-recommended brands targeting pathologic skins.↗ beautymatter.com
Acquired oral-care brand Hello Products LLC.↗ colgatepalmolive.com
- SKKN BY KIMowner · Coty Inc.
Coty purchased a 20% stake in KKW Beauty for $200 million, valuing the brand at $1 billion (deal finalized 2021).↗ coty.com
- Löwengripowner · Dermanordic
Löwengrip Beauty AB acquired by Dermanordic A/S↗ mynewsdesk.com
- Cremoowner · Edgewell Personal Care
Acquired by Edgewell Personal Care for $235 million (all-cash transaction)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Tanologistowner · Future Beauty Labs
Acquired (majority stake) by Yellow Wood Partners as part of Future Beauty Labs / Future Beauty Brands, May 2020.↗ prnewswire.com
- Roger & Galletowner · Impala SAS
L'Oréal finalised the sale of Roger & Gallet to Impala SAS (29 June 2020).↗ loreal-finance.com
- Santa Maria Novellaowner · Italmobiliare
Became part of the Italmobiliare group.↗ en.wikipedia.org
Clarins handed over Azzaro fragrance license to L'Oréal↗ en.wikipedia.org
Acquired by L'Oréal from Henry Thayer Co.↗ wwd.com
Asia & North America rights acquired by LG Household & Health Care (deal valued KRW192.3 billion / ~$161 million / £125 million)↗ beautymatter.com
Europe & South America rights acquired by Klinge Pharma and Aristo Pharma (Strüngmann family); Klinge covers Germany/Austria/France, Aristo covers Poland/Spain/Portugal/Italy/Ukraine (Nordic-specific holder not publicly confirmed — low confidence, secondary press)↗ deutsche-apotheker-zeitung.de
Acquired by Kendo Brands (LVMH subsidiary) when founder Kat Von D sold her shares.↗ premiumbeautynews.com
- Lieracowner · Laboratoire Native
Acquired by Impala SAS via takeover of Alès Groupe; now operated under Laboratoire Native↗ premiumbeautynews.com
- Innoxaowner · Laboratoires Geman
Acquired by LJV Capital (Frédéric Poux) from Laboratoires Visiomed, effective 29 February 2020↗ beautymatter.com
- Mincer Pharmaowner · Laboratorium Kosmetyczne Canexpol Group Sp. z o.o. Sp.k.
Acquired by Laboratorium Kosmetyczne Canexpol Group↗ canexpol.waw.pl
- Floïdowner · Ludovico Martelli S.p.A.
Floïd sold by Revlon to Ludovico Martelli S.p.A. (Italy).↗ whiteredgreen.com
Luxury Brand Partners invested ~$10 million to launch ONE/SIZE — three times LBP's typical brand-incubation investment. LBP retains ownership (per LBP brand-portfolio page and 2026 trade press).↗ glossy.co
- Avonowner · Natura &Co
Acquired by Brazilian multinational Natura &Co (announced 2019, completed January 2020)↗ en.wikipedia.org
- Screenowner · Nuova Fapam S.p.A.
Private-equity investment by Mandarin Capital Partners III (MCP III) in Nuova Fapam, parent of Screen↗ esteticaexport.com
- Tan-Luxeowner · Paris Presents, Inc.
Acquired by Paris Presents, Inc.↗ mergr.com
- Iwostinowner · Perrigo Poland Sp. z o.o.
Acquired by Perrigo Poland (assets for Emolium, Iwostin, Loxon) from Nepentes Pharma / Sanofi group↗ mgr.farm
Puig (Spain) acquired majority stake in Charlotte Tilbury Beauty Ltd at reported $1.2 billion valuation, with BDT Capital Partners taking a minority investment; founder retained significant minority stake.↗ glossy.co
Acquired Luksja (Poland)↗ sarantisgroup.com
- Swiss Perfectionowner · Shinsegae International
Acquired by Shinsegae International, beauty division of South Korea's Shinsegae Group↗ moodiedavittreport.com
- Cotoneveowner · Sisma S.p.A.
Private equity restructuring; Clessidra entered via debt-to-equity conversion (parent company Sisma)↗ clessidragroup.it
Acquisition of Natural Honey, a Spanish body-wash leader↗ sodalisgroup.com
- Perricone MDowner · THG plc
Acquired 100% by The Hut Group (THG) from Lion Capital for $60 million in cash↗ beautymatter.com
- HEMPZowner · TSG Consumer Partners
Acquired by TSG Consumer Partners on 2020-04-01; previously operated within the Supre Tan / PBI Group / Sun Evolutions professional tanning & salon umbrella (Dallas, TX)↗ mergr.com
- Aromatherapy Associatesowner · The Boots Group
Brand operates as part of The Boots Group (No7 Beauty Company). Exact acquisition year not stated on source pages; ownership confirmed as current.↗ aromatherapyassociates.com
- Nioxinowner · Wella Company
Became part of independent Wella Company (majority-owned by KKR) after separation from Coty↗ en.wikipedia.org
- OPIowner · Wella Company
Coty sold its stake in Wella, Clairol, OPI and ghd to KKR for $2.5bn (retaining a 40% stake); OPI moved under the KKR-controlled Wella Company.↗ en.wikipedia.org
- weDoowner · Wella Company
Transferred from Coty Professional Beauty to Wella Company via KKR's $4.3B carve-out of Coty's professional beauty division (brand was launched 2019 under Coty, became part of Wella Company portfolio in 2020)↗ wellacompany.com
- Simply Zenowner · Z.One Concept
Z.One Concept consolidated under Beautynova Group umbrella (Bluegem Capital Partners-backed)↗ milkshakehairpro.com